Ludwigsburg Residential Palace (Residenzschloss Ludwigsburg) is one of the few Baroque buildings to have survived the tumultuous history of the last centuries almost unscathed. This truly palatial complex stands out not just for its impressive size, but also for its sumptuous interiors. Another feature is the unique blend of three quite different architectural styles Baroque, Rococo and Neoclassicism.
A rich variety of museums and exhibitions, for both young and old, help to make Ludwigsburg Residential Palace a popular tourist attraction the Keramikmuseum (Ceramics Museum) houses a large collection; the Modemuseum (Fashion Museum) showcases clothing from the 18 th century to the 20 th ; the private apartments of Duke Carl Eugen, with their original decor, boast rare and valuable furniture and accessories; and the Barockgalerie(Baroque Gallery) features an array of historical works by a selection of artists. Kinderreich is an interactive museum where young visitors are positively encouraged to touch the exhibits and try things for themselves. Children aged four years and up can dress up and learn about life in the Duke’s court.
FROM A HUNTING LODGE TO A STATELY RESIDENCE The first palace on the site, which forms the old corps de logis, or main part of the building, was constructed from 1704 onwards. It was intended as a hunting lodge for Duke Eberhard Ludwig. In 1718, however, when Ludwigsburg became the Duke’s principal place of residence, he sought a more fitting reflection of his power and prestige. Donato Giuseppe Frisoni, who was responsible for the construction of the palace, also developed the plans for a new corps de logis to the south. As a result, the three wing complex acquired a fourth wing, enclosing a square. The impressive structure was completed in 1733.